“Explosive Weapon Effect” report published


A research report which seeks to describe and explain key types of explosive weapons and their destructive effects on humans and structures was published earlier this month by the Geneva International Centre for Humanitarian Demining (GICHD). The aim of this research is to contribute to the ongoing discussions on explosive weapons in populated areas, intended […]

Epsilon One for Middle-Eastern client


Safran Electronics & Defense and its Middle Eastern Partner, International Golden Group announced today that they had signed a contract for the supply of Epsilon One inertial ground navigation systems and technical integration services for an initial batch to outfit a first armoured brigade of a Middle-Eastern country. Connected to a battle management system, Epsilon […]

New contract for ECA Group


Pens are going to run out of ink if the rate of contract signatures at the IDEX 2017 show being held this week in Abu Dhabi continue at this pace. Amongst those signing contracts today was ECA Group which penned a new contract with a Middle Eastern client to deliver military vehicle simulators (MVS) for three additional schools. […]

And 18 for CAESAR!


Nexter, part of the KNDS group, has signed a contract at the IDEX 2017 show being held this week in Abu Dhabi for the sale to Indonesia of 18 more CAESAR self-propelled howitzer systems. The contract follows an initial one signed in 2012 for  36 CAESARs. In addition to its artillery system, Nexter will also supply […]

CMI Défense partners with RTD


with Nathan Gain in Abu Dhabi   Belgian company CMI Défence not only told us that it was indeed interested in buying Renault Trucks Défense (RTD), put up for sale by current owner Volvo Governmental Sales (as we recount here), but at the IDEX show being held this week in Abu Dhabi it unveiled a concrete example of […]

NATO strengthens its southern flank


“NATO faces challenges which are more complex than at any time since the end of the Cold War and the Alliance is responding. Countering threats stemming from the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) is an essential part of that response.” It was in these terms that NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg announced the creation of a […]

HK 416F tested by the DICoD


So, the French army has fired the first rounds with the HK 416F during a demonstration organised for the benefit of the Ministry of Defence’s information and communication department (DICoD ). Selected in September 2016 to replace the 400,000 FAMAS F1 and G1 assault rifles used in the three components of the French forces, the HK 416F proved to […]

Germany and Holland pool air defence


Germany and the Netherlands have agreed to further deepen defence cooperation this year by putting a German short-range air defence unit under Dutch command, a source familiar with the plans told Reuters on 10 February.     The agreement is that the German air defence unit will be put under the control of the Dutch air defence command […]

British Army to lose almost 18,000 staff


The British Army will lose at least 17,950 staff between now and spring 2018 according to a document published on 8 February by the Ministry of Defence. Entitled “Ministry of Defence Vote A”, this key document outlines the maximum number of personnel engaged in the UK’s Armed Forces up to 31 March 2018. It needs to be approved by Parliament which […]

New Special Forces vehicle delivered


France’s special forces received the first of 25 heavyweight tactical vehicles on 1 February, a couple of months late as they should initially have been delivered before the end of 2016 according to the terms of a contract signed by the DGA procurement agency with Renault Trucks Defense (RTD) on 30 December 2015 (see the […]

Les effets des armes explosives : rapport

Untitled

Un rapport de recherche, qui a pour but de décrire et d’expliquer les principaux types d’armes explosives et leurs effets destructeurs sur humains et structures, a été publié début février par le Centre International de Déminage Humanitaire de Genève (GICHD). L’objectif de cette recherche est de contribuer aux débats en cours sur les armes explosives […]

Epsilon One pour une armée au Moyen-Orient

Epsilon One (Crédit photo: Adrien Daste / Safran)

Safran Electronics & Defense et son partenaire International Golden Group ont annoncé aujourd’hui avoir signé un contrat avec les forces armées d’un pays du Moyen-Orient pour l’équipement et l’intégration de la centrale de navigation terrestre Epsilon One pour une première brigade blindée. Couplé à un système de coordination tactique de type «  battle management system », […]

Nouveau contrat pour ECA Group

Le simulateur MVS six-axes d'ECA Group (Crédit photo : ECA Group)

Décidément les stylos billes ont chauffé aujourd’hui pour signer des contrats supplémentaires au salon IDEX 2017 qui se tient cette semaine à Abou Dhabi. En effet, ECA Group à signé un nouveau contrat avec un client au Moyen Orient pour la livraison de simulateurs de conduite de véhicules militaires (MVS) pour trois écoles supplémentaires. Le groupe […]

Et 18 CAESAR de plus pour l’Indonésie !

Le CAESAR  (Crédit photo: ministère de la défense)

Nexter, partie du groupe KNDS, a signé au salon IDEX 2017 à Abou Dhabi la vente à l’Indonésie de 18 systèmes d’artillerie CAESAR supplémentaires. Ce contrat suit le contrat initial signé en 2012 pour 36 systèmes CAESAR. En plus des systèmes d’artillerie, Nexter fournira également son système de commande de tir, FINDART, des simulateurs CAESAR pour la formation […]

L’intérêt concret de CMI Défense pour RTD

Le Sherpa Scout SW équipé de la tourelle Cockerill CPWS

avec Nathan Gain à Abou Dhabi   L’entreprise belge CMI Défence nous a non seulement confirmé qu’elle est fort intéressée par le rachat de Renault Trucks Défense (RTD), que l’actuel propriétaire Volvo Governmental Sales voudrait vendre (comme nous vous l’avions raconté içi), mais elle a dévoilé au salon IDEX, qui se tient cette semaine à […]

Dormir en mode confort

Un lit de camp fabriqué par Seyntex  (Crédit photo: Seyntex)

Nous ne savons pas, chez FOB, si les militaires dormant à la belle étoile où sous la tente considèrent qu’ils passent des “vacances en mode confort”, toujours est-il que cette expression est celle utilisée par Trigano, un des quatre nouveaux fournisseurs de lits de camp pour les forces armées françaises, pour décrire son matériel de […]

Bravo à la championne du monde !

Tessa Worley à décroché aujourd'hui son deuxième titre de Championne du Monde du slalom géant

L’armée de terre peut être fière de sa nouvelle championne du monde de slalom géant: le sergent Tessa Worley qui vient juste de gagner le Championnat du Monde cet après-midi à St Moritz en Suisse devançant l’américaine Mikaela Shiffrin de 0″34 et l’Italienne Sofia Goggia de 0″74. La française de 27 ans n’en est pas à […]

L’OTAN renforce sa frontière méridionale

L'OTAN activera bientôt sa flotte de Global Hawk au départ de la base aérienne de , Italie (Crédit photo: Northrop Grumman)

« L’OTAN fait face à des défis plus complexes que jamais depuis la fin de la Guerre Froide et l’Alliance tâche d’y répondre. La lutte contre les menaces provenant du Moyen-Orient et d’Afrique du Nord (MENA) est un élément essentiel de cette réponse. » C’est en ces termes que le secrétaire général de l’OTAN Jens […]

Le HK 416F testé en avant-première par la DICoD

Le HK 416F testé en avant-première par la DICoD (Crédit photo:  A.Thomas-Trophime©DICoD)

C’est donc fait, l’armée française a tiré les premières cartouches de l’ère « HK 416F » à l’occasion d’une démonstration organisée au profit de la Délégation à l’information et à la communication de la défense (DICoD). Sélectionné en septembre 2016 pour remplacer les 400 000 fusils d’assaut FAMAS F1 et G1 en dotation dans les […]

Amsterdam et Berlin mutualisent leur défense aérienne

Un véhicule de défense aérienne rapprochée Wiezel 2 "Ozelot" de la Luftwaffe (Crédit photo:  Luftwaffe/Markus Schulze)

L’Allemagne et les Pays-Bas envisagent d’accentuer la mutualisation de leurs forces militaires en 2017, en plaçant une unité de défense aérienne rapprochée allemande sous commandement hollandais, révélait Reuters le 10 février.     Selon une source citée par l’agence de presse, l’unité allemande concernée sera postée sous le contrôle du commandement de la défense aérienne […]